Checklist of Common OCD Symptoms

The Y-BOCS Checklist is the first part of the Yale-Brown Obsessive Compulsive Scale, a two-part interview process used to gague the severity and nature of OCD symptoms.

The Checklist asks the patient to indicate whether or not s/he has specific types of obsessions or compulsions. The checklist groups obsessions and complusions into broad categories of symptoms:

Obsession Categories

  • Aggressive Obsessions
  • Contamination Obsessions
  • Sexual Obsessions
  • Hoarding/Saving
  • Religious
  • Need for Symmetry or Exactness
  • Somatic Obsessions (hypochondria or body appearance)
  • Miscellaneous

Compulsion Categories

  • Cleaning/Washing
  • Checking
  • Repeating Rituals
  • Counting
  • Ordering/Arranging
  • Hoarding/Collecting
  • Mental Rituals other than checking/counting
  • Miscellaneous

For more complete information on the Y-BOCS, please visit this page.

The Y-BOCS Scale was developed by:


ocd self test
Do you or a loved one feel like you might have a problem with OCD? Take the Self Test now to get more information.

The information provided on is designed to support, not replace, the relationship that exists between a patient/site visitor and his/her health professional. This information is solely for informational and educational purposes. The publication of this information does not constitute the practice of medicine, and this information does not replace the advice of your physician or other health care provider. Neither the owners or employees of nor the author(s) of site content take responsibility for any possible consequences from any treatment, procedure, exercise, dietary modification, action or application of medication which results from reading this site. Always speak with your primary health care provider before engaging in any form of self treatment. Click here to read our complete Terms of Use.

Susbscribe to our free newsletter for information & inspiration

Email Social